There are countless contributing factors that can come into play in a motor vehicle collision, but one of the most common causes of car accidents today is distracted driving. In fact, some research shows as many as 8 out of 10 crashes that occur in the commonwealth of Virginia are the result of driver inattention.
So what is being done to deter Virginia’s drivers from engaging in this deadly behavior? In 2013, lawmakers made texting while driving a primary offense. This means law enforcement can stop a driver if they witness a motorist texting while driving. The behavior is punishable by a $125 ticket for a first offense and a $250 fine and three points on your license for every subsequent offense.
Texting and driving was previously considered a secondary violation, meaning the officer or trooper had to witness the motorist break another law before they could be stopped and ticketed for distracted driving.
This is just the first step, though. An article from The News & Advance points out that talking on a cellphone while driving is still legal, despite evidence showing the behavior is dangerous as well.
At Lowell Stanley Injury Lawyers, we recognize the dangers distracted driving can pose to all motorists. That’s why our Norfolk personal injury lawyers ask that you put your phone down while driving and pledge not to drive while distracted.
If a distracted driver has injured you, it’s also important to know that we can help. Our legal team is standing by to offer you assistance with any questions you may have, and can help begin the legal processes to get you on the road to compensation. Call us anytime at (757) 459-CASH for a free consultation of your case.