July 2, 2012
Last year in Virginia, 245 lives were lost as a result of DUI accidents, according to the non-profit organization, Mother Against Drunk Driving. The group added that a majority of those accidents were caused by repeat offenders, many of whom were well above the legal blood alcohol limit of .08 percent.
In response to the problem of drunk drivers—repeat offenders in particular—Virginia recently passed a law that will make it a requirement for anyone convicted of DUI to have an ignition interlock system installed in their vehicle.
According to WVEC 13 News, the ignition interlock is a device designed to have a driver blow into a piece of equipment in order to start their vehicle. If the person has any amount of alcohol on their breath, the vehicle will not start.
Beginning this week, anyone convicted of DUI will have to have the device installed on their vehicle for no less than six months at their own expense, which could cost several thousand dollars. Past laws only required an ignition interlock be imposed upon a second-time or subsequent offender, or when the offender’s BAC is 0.15 percent or above.
With the Fourth of July holiday fast approaching, the Norfolk Personal Injury Lawyers with Lowell “The Hammer” Stanley would like to encourage motorists to use a designated driver or call a cab if you’ve been drinking to help avoid causing a preventable Norfolk car accident.