Changes Coming to Virginia’s Workers’ Compensation Laws
In Virginia, most employers are required by law to carry a workers’ compensation insurance policy that will cover the expenses related to an employee’s injury or death stemming from an on-the-job accident. Unfortunately though, many employers choose not to abide by these rules, leaving many workers struggling for compensation in the event of an accident.
To address this problem, the state has stiffened the penalties against companies that fail to comply with Virginia workers’ compensation laws. The new, stricter standards are set to go into effect later this summer.
According to an article from Tire Business, employers who fail to supply workers and subcontractors with workers’ compensation insurance will now face a fine of $250 per day they are not in compliance beginning July 1. The fines will continue to grow until they accumulate up to $50,000. Under the current laws, employers who do not carry the required insurance policy are only subject to a fine of up to $5,000.
The new laws also clearly define the roles that are classified as employees to prevent companies from using a title to exempt a worker from benefit coverage.
Norfolk personal injury lawyer Lowell “The Hammer” Stanley understands how confusing the state’s workers’ compensation laws and processes can be and encourages anyone with questions about filing such a claim to speak with a qualified attorney immediately.